Thursday, December 31, 2015

Angel Kitty

Happy New Year's Eve from the United States!  It's me Shari, in the snowy mountains of Northern Idaho, and I can't very well open my post today without saying HAPPY NEW YEAR to our international friends, too!!  It's already 2016 in other parts of the world and I'm feeling very honored to be here today at the Lost Coaster's Review to close out and start a new creative year with you!! 

   Now, if you can just bear with me as I share one more Christmasy holiday card before our clock strikes midnight here...
This is such a sweet kitty image, I LOVE it!!  This is Carmen's Veranda Angel Cat stamp and the stars are the limit with this darling image. 

I'm using kraft stock for my card base and background.  This is the Stars stencil from Dylusions and I'm using Picket Fence Distress Paint to create a starry background.  I'm also using DP because I want it to resist the next thing I'm going to do to it. 
 I heat set the stenciled stars then ran this background panel through Broken China Distress Stain, which I didn't take a picture of (sorry, I do that sometimes!), then I roughed up the edges of this panel with my paper distresser and ran through my sewing machine and added a messy, stitched border. 

Angel Cat was stamped a couple of times onto coffee stained mixed-media paper with Coffee & Jet Black Archival inks.  Before stamping the image with Coffee Archival, I wiped away the ink on the stars and colored with my Broken China Distress Marker. 

 I gave Angel Cat's bow a little sparkle with frosted film.  I stamped Angel Cat onto blue card stock, then put a small piece of frosted film over the bow, then fussy cut the bow out.
I added a few seasonal Chit Chat stickers and outlined with Hickory Smoke Distress Marker and my water brush. 
I adhered my layered fussy cut Angel Cat and a few mirrored stars onto the background with matte Decou-Page then attached the finished panel to the kraft card base, which I had also added a stitched border to. 
Thank you so much for joining me here today!!  Don't forget--You can still join in on our 2nd FB Challenge--
Cheers to a Happy & Healthy 2016!! 

Monday, December 28, 2015

Bunny tree

Hi there, It's Granne here and I hope you had a wonderful Christmas!
My daughter wanted to have a X-mas tree in her room, 
so I bought her a little cypress (about 20cm high) and then I was wondering: how to decorate this "tree". 
I know she loves bunnies, so why not? Bunny tree:

I used Lost Coast Designs Rabbit with Flowers and brown Stazon ink 
to stamp on a white shrink plastic, cut the images out 
(in one sheet I stamped 8 images), 
heated with my heat gun and attached the bunnies to beads. 
And so there is was, fully decorated miniature X-mas tree for my girl
(also good for Easter I think...).

Not a traditional solution but she loved it, lol.

 LCD blog challenge is on a X-mas holiday, 
but you are very welcome to join our FB challenge

And a new challenge starts at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity 
8th of January, hope to see you there too.

I wish you a great upcoming year 2016!

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Only Three Days Left Until Santa Arrives!

I am as excited as a kid!  It is so close I can't wait :)  Nanette here wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful New Year! So here to wave in the big event is the old guy himself! "Waving Santa" is from Carmen's Veranda and I, too, wonder why Mrs. Clause has not altered those pants!  Could be he loves showing some other color than red and white?  Those blue shocking socks are my newest love...the Nuance Powders now available at Lost Coast Designs with some awesome videos to show their wonderful uses!  I sprinkled the tiniest bit on my mat and used as watercolor for this jolly fellow with some white watercolors to make him all clean and sparkly!  The background is actually "Grunge Tree" in gold Gelatos where I stamped the excess off after using on a project!  Never waste any of the goodies, I say.

Hope you are ready for the big day as I will probably be out last minute frantically shopping but I sure hope I am ready!  Thanks for stopping by to take a peek!

                                                             Like our Facebook Page

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Winter Holiday Fun


kim here today and I just wanted to share with you the projects I made for this month for Lost Coast and Carmen's Veranda! We have the 2nd Facebook Challenge, you can play along HERE.  The link will take you right to the page, the post is pinned to the top.

Here are my December makes, I hope you have a joyous Holiday Season!


Snowman tag

Altered CD "Joy" using Steampunk Fly Girl

Kitty ATC using Tabby Cat and Christmas Lights

Friday, December 18, 2015

Folk Art Overalls Santa

Hello Everyone!
I wanted to share this cute folk art Santa card made with a stamp from Carmen's Veranda Stamps.

Design Note: I thought it would be interesting to stamp the image in Navy ink instead of traditional black or brown.  And  to compound the twist by making the card in a neutral brown palette.  I like the visual interest this produces.

Check out the full post on my blog, Dreaming and Creating.  Hope your holiday preparations are going well.  See you soon!
Karen McAlpine

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Oh Joy ATC

Hi, Nikki here sharing an ATC I have created for the 2nd day of our Carmen's Veranda Christmas event at The Lost Coast Portal to Creativity using two Winter Holidays stamps from Carmen's Veranda : Elf and Christmas Lights.

I titled this ATC : 'Oh Joy'. I mean, just look at the little elf's face ... He looks so joyful LOL

The first thing I did to make my background was apply glue stick through a star stencil. When that had dried I sprayed the background with Lindys Stamp Gang Starburst sprays and let it dry. The Christmas light were stamped in Stazon, then I added liquid pearls to the lights. See how some cracked over the glue stars - I liked that. Some of the cream lights also absorbed the color from the sprays, which was unexpected and welcomed. You see, there are no mistakes with mixed media techniques, only pleasant and unexpected surprises. LOL. I added a little glass micro bead to the base of each light.

The elf was stamped in memento ink, and colored with copics, see how cute he is in this close up:

The final step was to add a couple of thin strips of glitter, I do like a little bling on Christmas projects. The word Joy was die cut from a Tim Holtz word set. The elf was adhered with pop dots to add dimension. And the ATC front matted onto black card stock.

Thanks for stopping by, hope you are enjoying our build up to Christmas , with the Carmen's Veranda Christmas event and also our 2nd Facebook challenge, Winter Holidays :)

Thursday, December 10, 2015

A Compendium of Projects by Leigh!

Hello Lost Coasters!
Leigh here to share lots of DT inspiration today.  We are currently celebrating the spirit of the season with our A Carmen's Christmas Contest and our new Challenge for December has begun, all the festivities are happening over on our Lost Coast Portal to Creativity event and challenge blog.  Plus our new Facebook Pages based challenge has begun too!  Come and join the fun ;0)

First up, I made these 2 ATCs for Day 1 of our A Carmen's Christmas Contest!

 ATC #1 "Believe" features Carmen's Veranda Snowman, Three Trees and Believe from Lost Coast Designs "Wish Wisdom Grow Believe" Dictionary set

ATC #2 features Carmen's Veranda Christmas Lights and Angel Cat

And this ATC for our current Facebook Pages Challenge - #2 Winter Holidays!
Join the fun on our Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda Facebook Pages!  Same FB Challenge on both Pages...see the pinned post at the top of the walls for all the details and submit your projects as comments on the pinned Challenge posts!

I made this altered dominoes His and Hers Gift Set for the December Challenge - #19 Board Game Pieces!

This challenge is totally up my alley and I had so many ideas I couldn't decide on just one project so I made 3, a coaster for Him and a bracelet and necklace for Her!

The Coaster
I used Lost Coast Designs Calligraphy Doll in addition to touches of the scrolls from Carmen's Veranda Winged Skeleton

The Bracelet
I used Lost Coast Designs Lynnea from the Mini Flying Ladies stamp set.

The Necklace
I used Lost Coast Designs Art Doll from the Mini Flying Ladies set as well.

And for my last share today I've got something a bit different!  I'm currently playing in a 12 Days of Creepmas blog hop and here's my Day 5 altered domino from Dec 9 featuring
Carmen's Veranda Skulls and Bones background stamp and JOY from the Lost Coast Designs Harmony Peace Joy Freedom Dictionary set 

Thanks for stopping by to see my projects and I hope you'll join us over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity and Stay to Play!
Have a safe and fabulous Christmas and a wonderful New Year!

Happy Stamping!
Leigh S-B
LCD/CV DT Leader

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

Lost Coast Designs now carries Nuance Powders!

Hello Lost Coaster's!
We are very excited to announce that Lost Coast Designs now carries Nuance Powders by Magenta!

Nuance is a water-soluble powdered dye that comes in 15 vivid, rich and joyful colours!  The colours are available in individual 5-gram containers or you can have instant gratification and get the box set!
Stop by our Nuance page at Lost Coast Designs to see a fab video by Creations by CeeCee.  The video has a wealth of information and inspiration with suggestions on storing, using the Nuance powders on their own and in conjunction with stencils and molding paste...all demonstrated in a wonderful watercolour painting tutorial!

All 15 colours as well as the box set are now available for purchase on our website HERE!
Maybe it's not too late to add Nuance to your Santa wish list this year ;0)

Happy Stamping!
Leigh S-B
LCD/CV DT Leader

Friday, December 4, 2015

Game Pieces with Bibiana

Hello Dear Lost Coaster Stampers:

here Bibiana...bringing you this card for this challenge month "Game Pieces"...

game pieces LCD front

I download this blank puzzle page from the internet...photocopy it and reduce it in size to have different size pieces...

game pieces puzzle blank

then I sponged different colors with distress inks and finally I stamped the mini flying lady in "Versafine" black ink...

game pieces LCD stamps detail

added the dominoes on the background to match the domino that the flying lady has on the center...

Thanks for the company... I hope you like this project...

game pieces LCD stamps detail

you can find me at my blog : "stamping with Bibiana"
until next time....

Supplies: mini flying ladies and dominoes background

Wednesday, December 2, 2015

December News: It's beginning to look a lot like Christmas!

Hello Lost Coaster's!
WOW, can you believe its December already, where did this year go!
Christmas is my favourite holiday of the year and we, the LCDesigners, are getting into the spirit of the season big time with some festive activities for you!  It's non-stop fiesta time over at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity, our event and challenge blog, here's what we are up to for December so I hope you can all take a sec from your festivities to stop by and stay to play with us ;0)

We'll also be sharing our projects here on Lost Coaster's Review every 3 days instead of every 2 for Dec through to Feb 2016!


Win a $15 spending spree to Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda!
  Our A Carmen's Veranda Christmas Contest began Dec 1st!  
Check out our Day 1 post for some fabulous LCDesigner makes and then visit us Dec 8th for Day 2 and again on Dec 15 for the finale!  Enter your holiday projects by midnight on Dec 15 to be in the running for the $15 spending spree to Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda!

Win a $15 spending spree to Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda!
 Our 2nd Facebook Challenge, Winter Holidays, also started on Dec 1st with even more ways to win some LCD/CV stamps!  Pop on over to our Lost Coast Designs and Carmen's Veranda FB Pages and Like us!  We host the same FB Challenge on both FB Pages, see the pinned post at the top of the walls for the challenge details and submit your entries in the comments of the pinned posts!

Wait, there's more!  Our December monthly blog challenge starts Dec 7th so mark your calendars and join in!

Please read over the rules for all our activities to ensure your entries qualify! 

 Now it's your turn to show us your holiday projects, we can't wait to see all your festive entries!

Happy Holidays!
Leigh S-B
LCD/CV DT Leader

Monday, November 30, 2015


Hi There & Happy Monday!!  It's me Shari and I'm here today with my very first official posting for Lost Coast Designs!!  I'm so honored to be here as a part of the Lost Coast Designs/Carmen's Veranda DT and am so Thankful to have been given this opportunity.  Thus, today's creation of Thanks--

 This is Annie and she can be found in our Nostalgic Children category of stamps and I've framed her using one of our ATC Borders stamps.  Let me show you a little bit of what I did to create this card...

I've gathered up my pieces of stock that I'm going to use for stamping and layering.  I'm using a piece of an Autumn inspired master board for the background, that I made back in September. 

 This is what the master board looked like before I cut it into pieces for backgrounds.  It's a gelli print I made using a combination of Dylusions acrylics and Distress Paints.  I randomly scattered Tattered Leaves die cuts onto the gelli plate before pressing the paper down to make the print. 

I've got my background panel distressed and cut down to size and I'm using a piece of Kraft Core to mount the gelli print background panel onto.  I gave the piece of kraft core some interest and ran it through the old Big Shot with an embossing folder. 

I stamped the ATC Border image onto a piece of coffee stained mixed-media paper and heat embossed with black embossing powder.  I then added a little gilding to the frame by lightly running my glue stick over the raised, embossed texture then pressed onto a piece of gold foil. 

Annie was stamped twice onto coffee stained mixed-media paper with Jet Black archival ink and fussy cut.  She's layered here on the card and I popped one of her images up through the frame with foam squares. 

I separately stamped, heat embossed & fussy cut her little feathered friend here, too. 

I mounted Chit Chat stickers onto kraft crepe paper and glued to the background panel then finished with machine stitching. 

Before Annie and her frame were adhered into place, I ran both panels through my sewing machine to add the stitched border, then everything got glued down with matte Decou-Page and foam dots/squares.  Annie and her feathered friend aren't going anywhere. 

Thanks so much for joining me here for my Very First blog posting for Lost Coast Designs & Carmen's Veranda.  I'm so looking forward to a fun and creative future here at the Lost Coaster's Review and hope you'll join me here from time to time!! 

Friday, November 27, 2015

Christmas Preview with Overalls Santa

Hello All,
Hope the Thanksgiving turkey was yummy!  We had a nice dinner in my new house!  Lots of good food and my family!
Today, I want to share a vintagey Christmas card I made using Overalls Santa from Carmen's Veranda.   I also added one of the sentiments from the Party Words set from Lost Coast Designs.

This, oh so cute, folksy image was stamped with black dye ink and colored with alcohol markers.  Check out my blog, Dreaming and Creating, for more pics and instructions.  See you soon!
Karen McAlpine

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Beauty and Harmony

Hi to everyone, DT Granne here today, showing you some cards I made.  As soon as I saw this (Back view woman) image at Carmen's Veranda I just loved it!! She is so beautiful, she can be sad ... or in love ... or enjoying summer nights ... or anything really. Tickles my imagination.

I got myself some Prismacolours from the flea market and so wanted to try them out, so I stamped this gorgeous image to kraft and started coloring.

Those fabulous sentiments are from Lost Coast Designs, first I think I would use them for X-mas cards but there is so many different occasions and styles where to use them. Fits perfectly for the lady image too, or what do you think?

If you'll hurry, you still can join our current mail art challenge at Lost Coast Portal to Creativity, or there is a new challenge starting at December 7th ... And 1st of December stars new challenge at FB AND awesome fun:

So do come and play with us, :D